A one-off, self-pay online GP appointment in the UK cost between £25 and £99 on 26 September 2026, when we checked the published prices of 12 providers. Most charged £49 to £70 for a video call of 10 to 20 minutes. A private prescription, fit note or referral letter is usually included in the fee, and you pay the pharmacy for any medicine. The Vesey’s Virtual GP is £25 for 15 minutes.
The short answer
If you pay per appointment, expect to pay roughly £40 to £70 for a short video or phone call with a GMC-registered GP, and around £99 or more from a hospital group. The Vesey charges £25 for a 15-minute video appointment. Monthly memberships exist too, from about £25 a month, which only make sense if you will use a GP several times a year.
An NHS appointment is free. The trade is time: an NHS online consultation usually starts with a form and a wait for a call back, while a private online GP books you straight into a video slot you choose. Neither is better in every case; the cost question only matters once you have decided you want to be seen quickly.
UK online GP prices compared (26 September 2026)
We took each price from the provider’s own website on the date shown. Where a provider quotes a “from” price, that is the cheapest appointment it sells. Where an appointment length is not published we have said so rather than guessed.
| Provider | Price | Length | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| The Vesey — Virtual GP | £25 | 15 min | Prescription, fit note or referral letter included · Sunday appointments · no app |
| Ramsay Health Care — Online GP (delivered by Doctor Care Anywhere) | £39.50 | 20 min | Video or phone, 24/7 |
| Doctor Care Anywhere — one-off appointment | from £45 | Not stated | Also sold as a £25/month membership |
| Push Doctor — private appointment | £49 | Not stated | App only, 8am–8pm |
| Superdrug — Video GP | £49 | Not stated | |
| The GP Service — video consultation | from £49 | Not stated | |
| DocTap — video appointment | £55 | 15 min | From £65 Saturday–Sunday |
| AccessGP — video or telephone | £55 | Not stated | |
| Bupa — remote GP appointment | £59 | 15 min | Weekdays; from £79 on Sundays and bank holidays |
| Kry (formerly Livi) — pay-as-you-go | £60 | Not stated | App only |
| London Doctors Clinic — online appointment | £70 | Not stated | |
| HCA UK — GP appointment | from £99 | Not stated |
Prices as published on each provider’s own website on ; the link on each name goes to the page we read. Providers change prices, so check before you book. Appointment length is as the provider states it.
Book a £25 Virtual GP appointment
15-minute video appointment · prescription, fit note or referral letter included · anywhere in the UK
What the price usually includes
Across the providers above, the appointment fee normally covers the consultation itself plus any of these the GP judges appropriate:
- A private prescription, sent electronically to a pharmacy near you. You then pay the pharmacy for the medicine at its private price, not the NHS charge.
- A fit note (the Med3 “sick note”) if the GP judges you unfit for work. See how to get a sick note online.
- A referral letter to a private specialist or for a scan or blood test.
- A summary to your NHS GP, with your consent, so your record stays joined up.
Two providers in the table charge more at weekends (DocTap and Bupa), several are app-only, and Push Doctor and Kry say a fit note can cover a maximum of two weeks. Read the small print for the thing you actually need before you compare on price alone.
What it never includes
- Medicine. Every provider, including us, leaves you to pay the pharmacy. Some common generics cost less privately than the NHS prescription charge in England; branded or specialist medicines cost more.
- Controlled drugs. Strong opioid painkillers, benzodiazepines, ADHD stimulants and similar are not started on a video call by any reputable service.
- Tests and scans. A referral is included; the blood test, X-ray or scan is a separate price wherever you have it done.
- A physical examination. A lump, an ear that needs looking in, a chest that needs listening to: the GP will tell you to be seen in person.
Pay per visit or take a membership?
Doctor Care Anywhere sells ongoing GP access for £25 a month or £199 a year, and Simplyhealth’s plans start from about £25 a month. A membership pays off if you would otherwise book four or more appointments a year at £45 to £60 each. If you need a GP once or twice a year, a £25 or £39.50 one-off appointment is cheaper than a single month of most memberships.
The Vesey also runs GP subscriptions from £19 a month for people near Sutton Coldfield who want in-person continuity with the same GP; the Virtual GP is deliberately priced so that a one-off video call needs no membership at all.
Is a digital GP included with health insurance?
Usually, yes. Bupa, AXA Health, Vitality, Aviva, WPA and The Exeter all include a remote GP service with most policies, at no charge at the point of use. If you are insured, use it. If you are not, an insurance policy is a long way round to a £25 appointment.
How to choose an online GP
- Check the regulator. A UK provider treating patients in England should be registered with the Care Quality Commission; the GP should be on the GMC register. Both are searchable in a minute.
- Check the length. Ten minutes is enough for a repeat prescription. Fifteen is enough for one new problem. Two problems or a complex history need longer.
- Check what is extra. Weekend uplifts, fit-note limits, app downloads, account sign-ups.
- Check what happens if you need to be seen. A provider with a clinic can examine you; an app-only service can only signpost.
The Vesey’s Virtual GP scores well on each: CQC-registered provider, GMC-registered GPs, 15 minutes, prescription, fit note and referral letter included, no app, and a Sutton Coldfield clinic behind it if you do need an examination.
Frequently asked questions
How much is an online GP appointment in the UK?
When we checked 12 UK providers on 26 September 2026, one-off online GP appointments were priced from £25 (The Vesey, 15 minutes) to £99 or more (HCA UK). Most sat between £49 and £70. Prescriptions, fit notes and referral letters are usually included; medicine is paid to the pharmacy.
What is the cheapest online GP in the UK?
On 26 September 2026, the lowest published price among the 12 providers we compared was The Vesey’s £25 Virtual GP (15 minutes). The next lowest was Ramsay Health Care’s Online GP at £39.50 for 20 minutes. Prices change, so check the provider’s site before you book.
Is an online GP cheaper than the NHS?
No. NHS care is free at the point of use. A private online GP costs money in exchange for a booked video appointment at a time you choose, usually the same day or within a few days, rather than a form and a wait for a call back.
Do I pay extra for a prescription from an online GP?
With most providers, including The Vesey, the prescription itself is included in the appointment fee. You pay the pharmacy for the medicine at its private price. Some online pharmacies charge a separate prescription fee when they both prescribe and dispense.
Can I use an online GP if I am already registered with an NHS GP?
Yes. You stay registered with your NHS practice. With your consent, a private online GP sends a summary of your consultation to your NHS GP so your record stays complete.
This article is general information, not medical advice for your situation. If you have chest pain, severe breathlessness, signs of a stroke or any other emergency, call 999.