A private GP subscription in the UK costs between £15 and £56 a month for one adult, based on the 9 plans we checked on 26 September 2026. The cheapest are remote-only and most lock you in for 12 months. What separates them is not the headline price but four things: whether appointments are in person or video, how many you get, whether a health screening is bundled, and whether you can leave. The Vesey's Essential plan is £19 a month, in clinic or by video from anywhere in the UK, with an annual health screening and no minimum term.
The short answer
If you want the cheapest possible remote GP on tap, Bupa Well+ Bronze at £15 a month is the lowest published price we found, on a 12-month term with "limits apply" on appointments. If you want unlimited appointments, HCA's Flexible Care GP at £25.49 a month is the lowest, again on a 12-month term. If you want a real clinic behind the video service, a health screening every year, and the freedom to cancel next month, The Vesey's Essential plan at £19 is the one to compare against.
Search demand for these products is small and the market is young: Bupa only launched its subscription in April 2025. Most people arrive at a GP subscription from one of two directions, either fed up with waiting for an NHS appointment or already paying £45 to £90 a time for private ones. The maths is different for each, so we do both below.
UK GP subscriptions compared (26 September 2026)
| Provider and plan | Price | Minimum term | Included |
|---|---|---|---|
| The Vesey — Essential GP subscription | £19/month | No minimum term, cancel anytime | 6 GP appointments a year, in clinic or by video (UK-wide); Essential health screening; annual flu jab; priority booking; blood-test and specialist discounts |
| Bupa Well+ Bronze (remote only) | £15/month | 12 months | 15-minute remote GP appointments, limits apply; nurse HealthLine; private prescriptions |
| Bupa Well+ Bronze (remote and in-person) | £20/month | 12 months | As above plus in-person appointments at Bupa centres |
| Doctorcall membership | from £15/month | Not stated | Two subscription options; visiting-doctor service |
| iGP — My iGP (South Wales) | from £19/month | 12 months | Set number of appointments; priority booking; discounts |
| Doctor Care Anywhere — Care Pass | £25/month or £199/year | Monthly, cancel anytime | 24/7 remote GP; physiotherapy; mental health support; no in-person option |
| Simplyhealth 1-2-3 Health Plan | from £25.10/month | Not stated | 24/7 remote GP and nurse; cashback towards dental, optical and physio |
| HCA UK — Flexible Care GP | £25.49/month or £260/year | 12 months | Unlimited GP appointments; annual health screen; flu jab; 50% off urgent-care first visit |
| Midland Health (Birmingham) — Single | £49/month | 12 months | 6 GP appointments a year, in person or video; annual health screen after 12 months; 10% off tests |
| HCA UK — My HCA GP | £56/month or £600/year | 12 months | Unlimited GP and urgent-care first visits; annual health screen; flu jab |
Prices and terms as published on each provider’s own website on ; the link on each name goes to the page we read. Providers change prices, so check before you join.
Four things that matter more than the headline price
- In person, video, or both. Bupa's £15 plan, Doctor Care Anywhere and Simplyhealth are remote only. If a GP needs to examine you they will send you elsewhere, usually your NHS GP or a pay-as-you-go appointment. Plans with a clinic behind them (The Vesey, HCA, Midland Health, iGP) let the same GP see you in the room.
- How many appointments, and how long. "Unlimited" plans are usually 15-minute appointments; The Vesey's in-clinic appointment is 30 minutes and its video appointment 15. Six 30-minute appointments a year is more GP time than many "unlimited" members use.
- What is bundled. An annual health screening (bloods, blood pressure, BMI, lifestyle review) is worth £99 on its own at The Vesey and is included on Essential. HCA and Midland Health include a screen too; the remote-only plans do not.
- Whether you can leave. Seven of the ten plans in the table run for 12 months. The Vesey and Doctor Care Anywhere bill monthly with no minimum term.
Try Essential for a month
£19 · 6 GP appointments a year in clinic or by video · Essential health screening · cancel anytime
Is a subscription cheaper than paying per visit?
Work it out from how often you actually see a GP. At The Vesey a one-off in-clinic appointment is £90 and a one-off Virtual GP is £25. Essential is £228 a year for six appointments plus the screening (£99), the flu jab and the discounts. So:
- You see a GP in clinic three or more times a year: Essential wins (£228 against £270 or more, and the screening is on top).
- You only ever want video, once or twice a year: pay as you go at £25 wins. Six video appointments cost £150 against £228, so the subscription only makes sense if you value the screening, priority booking and the in-clinic option.
- You want continuity with one GP and a full assessment every year: Advance (£59, 12 appointments plus a £275 Advance Health Assessment) is where the value sits.
Subscription or health insurance?
They answer different questions. A GP subscription buys access to a GP: appointments, prescriptions, fit notes, referral letters, a screening. Health insurance buys what happens after a referral: the consultant, the scan, the operation, and it usually includes a digital GP of its own. If you are insured, use the GP that comes with your policy. If you are not, a subscription is the cheap end of private care and a referral letter from it is what a private consultant or scan will ask for. We compare the three routes in GP subscription vs pay-as-you-go vs insurance.
How to choose
- Check the regulator (CQC in England, HIW in Wales) and that the doctors are on the GMC register.
- Read the minimum term and the cancellation clause before the benefits list.
- Count the appointments you used last year. Buy for that number, not for the word "unlimited".
- Ask what happens when you need to be examined. If the answer is "go to your NHS GP", you are buying a phone line, not a doctor.
Frequently asked questions
How much does a private GP subscription cost in the UK?
Between £15 and £56 a month for one adult, based on the 9 UK plans we checked on 26 September 2026. The cheapest (£15, Bupa Well+ Bronze) is remote only on a 12-month term. The Vesey's Essential plan is £19 a month with no minimum term.
What is the cheapest GP subscription in the UK?
On 26 September 2026 the lowest published monthly price was Bupa Well+ Bronze at £15 for remote-only appointments, with Doctorcall also advertising plans from £15. Both are 12-month or unstated terms. The Vesey's Essential plan is £19 a month, cancel anytime, and includes in-clinic appointments and an annual health screening.
Do GP subscriptions include prescriptions?
The prescription itself is normally included in the plan; the medicine is a private prescription you pay the pharmacy for. Some plans charge for repeat prescriptions (Midland Health lists £25 per medication). At The Vesey the prescription is included and you pay the pharmacy for the medicine.
Can I use a GP subscription anywhere in the UK?
Remote-only plans work anywhere in the UK by phone or video. Clinic-based plans are tied to their clinic for in-person care; The Vesey's plans let you take any appointment as a video call from anywhere in the UK and use the Sutton Coldfield clinic when you need to be seen.
Is a GP subscription worth it?
It is worth it if you would otherwise pay for three or more private appointments a year, or if you want an annual screening and priority booking bundled in. It is not worth it for one or two video appointments a year, which cost £25 each at The Vesey without a plan.
This article is general information about paying for GP care, not medical advice. In an emergency call 999.